What anxiety feels like

diani-1

I was always an over thinker.
Maybe always a little restless.
But I didn’t know what anxiety felt like.
Until last year.

It felt like my stomach was constantly crumbling into pieces.
I struggled to breathe, gasping for air all the time.
I felt knots building up in my gut, in my chest, in my brain.
I felt heavy, I felt tight.

The triggers kept coming back
On different days, in different forms.
A sound, a message, a face.
And all of a sudden, it was there.
Like a punch on my face, a kick in my stomach.

But how do I explain what anxiety felt like?
I told my mom who forcefully said,
“You are overthinking”
And then my friend, who told me:
“Just Breathe.”

I saw a doctor
who gave me some pills
And all of a sudden I stopped feeling.
Anything, everything.

The triggers didn’t bother.
But there was no joy.
I needed to feel.
I needed to smile and cry and think.
I pulled myself up.
From the bed, from those thoughts.
Force fed myself even when it felt nauseating.
I pressed my hand, my arms, my stomach, my chest.
Held on to my body.
Soft, then hard, then harder.

Now I knew what anxiety felt like.
And I tried to fight it.
Again and again.
Boxing, writing, talking on the phone.
Reading, breathing, and taking long, long showers.
I tried to fight it
Again and again.
I distanced myself from the triggers
Those sounds
Those people
Those spaces
It got better. It had to.
My heart felt less like jelly.
I could breathe.
Open those knots.
I saw the colours, I saw the light.

Maybe it was over.
Maybe that was it.
Until one day again
All of a sudden
It was back.
But this time I knew what anxiety felt like.
And I knew how to embrace it.
I knew how to fight it.

I wage these wars every time it touches me.
And maybe that’s what I’ll do.
Again and again.
Forever.

About Read Stuff With Me!

A writer and multimedia journalist whose everyday excitement revolves around digital videos, podcasts, food, and books. I'm currently based in the U.S. but my heart is in India (and Bali).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment